Millar Edge earn first league title

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Millar Edge end PSC's two-year reign atop Swift Current Men's Indoor Soccer League

2013/14 Millar Edge

The Millar College of the Bible Edge won back-to-back games Tuesday to earn their first ever title in the Swift Current Men’s Indoor Soccer League.

Swift Current PSC saw their two-year reign atop the league come to an end with a semi-final loss to Some Bugs. PSC had won the regular season title with 11 wins, two draws, and three losses, while Some Bugs were fourth with a 6-7-3 record.

The semi-final was tied 1-1 at halftime and tied 2-2 early in the second half when both teams scored from the penalty spot before Some Bugs scored four unanswered goals for the upset win. Mark Spetz and Seth Kielly led the victors with two goals apiece and Christian Aparicio and Jeff Klink both added singles. Geoff Horn and John Thomliston replied for PSC.

Meanwhile, the Millar Edge upended Selecta 4-2 in the other semi-final. Millar had placed second in the regular season with a 9-3-4 record, while Selecta was third with an 8-2-6 record. Cache Anderson, Joel Doerksen, Braden Robertson, and Chris Tycholis all scored in the win for Millar, while Todd Bowditch and Rory O Callaghan replied for Selecta.

Millar and Some Bugs squared off in the championship match immediately after the semi-finals and Millar earned a 3-1 win. Anderson, David Ness, and Robertson all scored for the Edge in the win.

PSC’s John Thomliston won the Golden Boot as the league’s top goal scorer with 26 goals in 16 games. O Callaghan was second with 19 goals, followed by PSC’s Robin Ailsby with 18, Horn with 15, and Robertson and Aparicio with 14 apiece.

Organizations: Millar College of the Bible Edge, Swift Current Soccer Association

Geographic location: Swift Current

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page