Portland and Edmonton to meet for Ed Chynoweth Cup once again

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Ed Chynoweth Cup

The Edmonton Oil Kings and Portland Winterhawks will meet for a third straight season in the Western Hockey League Championship Series.

The Oil Kings defeated the Medicine Hat Tigers 4-3 on Saturday to clinch their third straight Eastern Conference Championship four games to one. Portland earned a fourth straight Western Conference Championship with a 7-3 win on Friday to defeat the Kelowna Rockets four games to one as well.

The Winterhawks currently have the top three scorers in the WHL playoffs. Oliver Bjorkstrand leads all skaters with 15 goals and 28 points in 14 games and Brendan Leipsic is second with 27 points. Defenseman Derrick Pouliot leads the league with 22 assists and is third with 26 points in 14 games. Brett Pollock and Curtis Lazar lead the Oil Kings with 17 points apiece in 14 games played.

Corbin Boes has taken over the goaltending duties for Portland and leads the league with a 1.84 goals against average and is tied for the lead with a .941 save percentage. Tristan Jarry will backstop the Oil Kings and has a 1.86 GAA and a .929 save percentage.

Portland finished second in the WHL with a 54-13-2-3 record, 10 points ahead of Edmonton’s 50-19-2-1 record.

Portland holds the advantage with a 26.7 percent success rate on the powerplay in the playoffs with 24 goals on 90 man-advantage opportunities. Edmonton has 14 goals on 64 powerplay opportunities for a 21.9 percent mark.

Edmonton has killed off 85.4 percent of their shorthanded situations, while Portland has only killed off 79 percent of the 62 shorthanded situations they have found themselves in.

The two teams met only once during the regular season when the host Oil Kings won 5-4 in a shootout on December 6.

The series will begin Saturday and Sunday in Portland and then shift back to Edmonton for games three and four on Tuesday and Wednesday. Game five will be played Friday back in Portland. Game six, if necessary, would be played Sunday, May 11 in Edmonton, with game seven back in Portland the next day.

The winner will compete in the MasterCard Memorial Cup in London, ON May 16-25 against the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League champions, Ontario Hockey League champions, and the host London Knights.

Edmonton won the league title in 2012 and Portland won the Ed Chynoweth Cup last season.

Organizations: Edmonton Oil Kings, Western Hockey League, Medicine Hat Tigers 4 MasterCard Quebec Major Junior Hockey League Ontario Hockey League

Geographic location: Portland, Edmonton, London, ON

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page