Johnson named league MVP

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Six Swift Current Indians named to WMBL all-star teams

Members of the Swift Current Indians were the recipients of some well-deserved individual accolades at the conclusion of the Western Major Baseball League regular season.

One day after setting the league record with his 38th stolen base, outfielder Josh Johnson was named the league’s Most Valuable Player. The Tampa, Florida native led the league with 38 stolen bases, 15 more than the next closest player, and was caught only five times in 43 attempts. He also led the league with 47 runs scored in 40 games and finished third with a .379 batting average.

Outfielder Eros Modena was named the Player of the Week for the final week of the season with a .364 average, five runs batted in, and four stolen bases during the week.

The league also released its first and second all-star teams. Joining Johnson on the first all-star team was infielder Hunter Owen and pitchers Fernando Pena and Sean Callegari. Owen finished the season with a .363 batting average, three home runs, 61 hits, 35 runs scored, and 29 RBI. Pena had a 4-1 record with a 2.65 earned run average and 59 strikeouts over 61 innings. Callegari finished 5-0 with a 2.38 ERA and 52 strikeouts over 56.2 innings.

Modena was named to the second all-star team after leading the league with 46 RBI in only 40 games. He finished the season with a .370 average and 18 stolen bases. Infielder Matt Spillman was also named to the second all-star team after hitting .314 with 34 runs scored and 21 RBI.

WMBL Award Winners

Most Valuable Player - Josh Johnson, Swift Current Indians     

Rookie of the Year - Aiden Stinnet, Moose Jaw Miller Express

Canadian Rookie - Tyrell King, Okotoks Dawgs

Coach of the Year - Ryan MacDonald, Lethbridge Bulls

WMBL First Team All-Stars

Pitchers - Terry McNabb, Moose Jaw; Scott Cone, Lethbridge; Fernando Pena, Swift Current; Sean Callegari, Swift Current.

Catcher - Bronson Larsen, Saskatoon.

Infielders - Aiden Stinnett, Moose Jaw; Hunter Owen, Swift Current; Taylor Hutchison, Lethbridge; Connor Crane, Okotoks.

Outfielders - Josh Johnson, Swift Current; Miles Hunter, Moose Jaw; Javy Marticorena, Weyburn.

Designated hitter – Dylan Dyson, Lethbridge.

WMBL Second Team All-Stars

Pitchers - Tyrell King, Okotoks; Alex Regan, Lethbridge; Steven Bunnell, Melville; Kevin Hand, Regina.

Catcher - Steve Hazel, Regina.

Infielders - Mitch Dornblut, Lethbridge; Connor Lloyd, Saskatoon; Evan Comeau, Lethbridge; Matt Spillman, Swift Current.

Outfielders - Brandon Bufton, Lethbridge; Eros Modena, Swift Current; Jose Cruz, Medicine Hat.

Designated hitter - Kameron Mizzel, Yorkton.

Organizations: Western Major Baseball League, WMBL, Swift Current Indians

Geographic location: Swift Current, Lethbridge, Moose Jaw Tampa, Florida Saskatoon Okotoks Medicine Hat Yorkton

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page