Three Indians named WMBL All-Stars

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Swift Current Indians

A trio of Swift Current Indians were rewarded for standout regular season performances with Western Major Baseball League All-Star honours. Two starting pitchers and one outfielder were named First Team All-Stars when the league awards were announced on the opening day of the playoffs Wednesday.

Outfielder Jake Gonzalez was named one of three outfielders on the First Team after finishing second in the league with 10 homeruns. The Lake Jackson, Texas native hit .303 with 34 runs batted in and 27 runs scored in 37 games with the Indians this season. He also finished 3-1 with six saves and a 2.42 earned average on the mound during his first season in Swift Current.

Indians starters Anthony Armanino and Chris Haddeland were among the four pitchers named to the First All-Star Team.

Haddeland finished third in the WMBL in strikeouts, fourth in earned run average, and tied for fifth in wins in his second season with the Tribe. The McMinnville, Oregon native finished 5-3 with a 2.05 ERA in nine starts during the regular season. He struck out 57 batters in 61.1 innings with only 15 walks. The sophomore from Linfield University was 1-1 with a 3.76 ERA last season in Swift Current.

Armanino finished second in the league with 60 strikeouts this season.  The San Carlos, California native finished 4-0 with a 2.25 ERA in eight appearances this season. He only allowed 11 walks and 33 base hits while averaging exactly one strikeout per inning. The Tribe won all but one of the nine games that Armanino pitched in this summer. Armanino stepped it up with 11 strikeouts over seven innings to lead the Tribe to a win in their playoff opener Wednesday.

Moose Jaw Miller Express slugger Michael Corso was named the league’s Most Valuable Player after challenging for the triple crown. The Vancleave, Mississippi product led the league with 11 homeruns and 46 runs batted in. He finished second with a .388 average, six points back of Okotoks’ Thomas Rodrigues.

2013 WMBL Award Winners

Most Valuable Player - Mike Corso, Moose Jaw Miller Express    

Rookie of the Year - Homero Ortiz, Melville Millionaires    

Canadian Rookie - Miles Hunter, Moose Jaw Miller Express    

Coach of the Year - Shawn Counts, Melville Millionaires    

WMBL First Team All Stars


Homero Ortiz, Melville Millionaires

Billy Martin, Medicine Hat Mavericks    

Anthony Armanio, Swift Current Indians

Chris Haddeland, Swift Current Indians


CJ DeDeaux, Medicine Hat Mavericks


Mike Corso, Moose Jaw Miller Express    

Kevin Biro, Melville Millionaires    

Joel Lutz, Medicine Hat Mavericks

Thomas Rodrigues, Okotoks Dawgs


Grant Silva, Medicine Hat Mavericks    

Jake Gonzalez, Swift Current Indians

Zack Burling, Saskatoon Yellow Jackets

Designated Hitter        

Ryan Bourcier, Weyburn Beavers

WMBL Second Team All Stars


Ryan Castadio, Medicine Hat Mavericks

Hayden Cleveland, Okotoks Dawgs    

Ryan Drummond, Regina Red Sox    

Allan Sanchez, Regina Red Sox    


Hank Stewart, Moose Jaw Miller Express    

Jordan Procyshen, Okotoks Dawgs    


Sean Kettering, Okotoks Dawgs    

Guillaume Gingras, Medicine Hat Mavericks

Michael Lukkason, Weyburn Beavers    

Mitch Frey, Medicine Hat Mavericks


Miles Hunter, Moose Jaw Miller Express

Josh Myers, Okotoks Dawgs    

Zac Asman, Okotoks Dawgs    

Designated Hitter     

Matt Cook, Saskatoon Yellow Jackets 

Organizations: Linfield University, WMBL, Swift Current Indians

Geographic location: San Carlos, California, Swift Current, Medicine Hat Moose Jaw Lake Jackson, Texas McMinnville, Oregon Saskatoon Vancleave Mississippi

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page