Tribe settles for individual post season recognition

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Despite their season ending in the Western Major Baseball League quarter-finals, seven members of the Swift Current Indians earned recognition for their outstanding seasons.

Aaron Dunsmore was selected as the co-winner of the WMBL MVP award along with Ridge Gonsoulin from Lethbridge.

Dunsmore was third in the WMBL with a .403 batting average, notching a league leading 71 hits over 46 games. He also launched a league second best nine home runs and was league runner up with 42 runs batted in.

Dunsmore also earned a selection to the WMBL 1st All-Star Team along with Indians pitcher Garrett Anderson and catcher Wil Thorp.

Anderson was one of three left handed pitchers given the nod as a 1st team all star after a solid 4-1 season where he had a 2.54 earned run average. He appeared in nine games, pitching 39 innings while recording 30 strikeouts and yielding 39 hits.

Thorp was fourth on the Tribe with a .339 batting average and he tied for fifth with 21 runs batted in. Thorp also had 43 hits and he struck out just six times in 127 plate appearances.

Four more Indians earned WMBL 2nd Team All-Star status, with Cody Chartrand, Eric Huson, Alex Mortensen, and Cam Newell rewarded for their successful seasons.

Chartrand and Huson were selected as right handed pitchers. Chartrand was called in to pitch 25 and one third innings during 15 relief appearances, where he struck out 26 and allowed just 14 hits while compiling a 1.07 earned run average and saving five games. Huson posted a 5-1 record with a 2.77 earned run average while striking out 21 batters during 39 innings of work.

Mortenson earned the distinction of being the lone Swift Current infielder selected as an all-star. He was third on the Tribe with a .360 batting average, scattering a team second best 58 hits and 27 runs batted in.

Newell collected second team all-star honours in the outfield, placing second on the team with a .366 batting average in 33 games.

WMBL Award winners are as follows:

League Co-MVP's: Aaron Dunsmore, Swift Current; Ridge Gonsoulin, Lethbridge.

Homme Award (Top Pitcher): Daniel Jones, Regina.

Doug Jones Award (Batting Champion): Josh Young.

Ray Hein Award (Rookie of the Year): Daniel Jones, Regina.

Outstanding Canadian: Bryan Arthur, Medicine Hat.

League Executive Award (Coach of the Year): Bric Steed, Melville.


LHP: Garrett Anderson, Swift Current; Jake Stalzer, Saskatoon; Parker Thomas, Melville.

RHP: Daniel Jones, Regina; Billy Martin, Medicine Hat; Jordan Rawlyk, Saskatoon.

CATCHER: Wil Thorp, Swift Current.

DH: Bubba Dotson, Medicine Hat.

INFIELDERS: Michael Corso, Moose Jaw; Ridge Gonsoulin, Lethbridge; Jesse Sawyer, Lethbridge; Derek Wallace, Weyburn.

OUTFIELDERS: Josh Young, Regina; Bryan Arthur, Medicine Hat; Aaron Dunsmore, Swift Current.


LHP: Bret Derooy, Okotoks; Austin Park, Medicine Hat; Alex Regan, Lethbridge.

RHP: Danny Britton-Foster, Okotoks; Ryan Castadio, Medicine Hat; Cody Chartrand, Swift Current; Eric Huson, Swift Current.

DH: Cody Maas, Regina.

CATCHER: Jordan Procyshen, Okotoks.

INFIELDERS: Mitch Frey, Medicine Hat; Joel Blake, Lethbridge; Chris Burk, Melville; Alex Mortensen, Swift Current.

OUTFIELDERS: Jerod Bartnik, Okotoks; Tim Colwell, Saskatoon; Cam Newell, Swift Current.

Organizations: Western Major Baseball League

Geographic location: Swift Current, Lethbridge, Medicine Hat Okotoks Saskatoon Moose Jaw

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page