Federal funding supports Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Swift Current Mayor Jarrod Schafer and Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame Manager George Bowditch recently joined Cypress Hills Grassland MP David Anderson when he announced $75,150 in funding for the Hall of Fame through the federal government's Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund.

The Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame located in Swift Current is getting a boost courtesy of the federal government.

This past week an investment of $75,150 was directed to the Hall of Fame through the Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund (CIIF). Cypress Hills Grasslands MP David Anderson announced the funding during a recent visit to Swift Current. The funding is designed to help the City improve the area housing the Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame. Improvements include a new entrance added specifically for the Hall of Fame, and a video room, interactive and display areas, display cases, and a wall for inductee plaques will be created in the upgrades.

Swift Current Mayor Jerrod Schafer said this investment is hugely appreciated.

"I know as a City we're very fortunate to have the Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame here in Swift Current. It could have went in a number of other communities. I think it's a huge boost to the usage of the iPlex itself," he said. "We're just really pleased that the federal government saw fit to be a capital partner and invest and help pay for some of those upgrades."

Schafer, who is the co-chair of the Hall of Fame's board of directors, admits the Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame is one of Swift Current's hidden jewels.

"It is a jewel. It really is a mini version of the Hall of Fame in Toronto and anybody who goes through there their reactions are positive, the quality of the facility is top notch," he said.

Swift Current will continue to market the Hall of Fame as a tourist attraction, along with encouraging more city residents to go through it. Overseen by an independent board and as a non-profit entity, they have plans to keep growing the hall over the years.

"Between the Lyric and the Hockey Hall of Fame, our MP has done some work getting some dollars back into Swift Current, so we appreciate what MP Anderson has done in that regard for us as well."

The induction dinner for the 2013 class of individuals selected to the Saskatchewan Hockey Hall of Fame will be hosted in Regina on July 27. Players Gordon “Red” Berenson, Bernie Federko, Clark Gillies and Eddie Shore, will be joined by Grassroots nominee John Maddia, builders Bill Hay and Del Wilson, official Mick McGeough, and team selection the 1913-14 Regina Victorias Hockey Club as inductees in the second selection group.

"We take it pretty important that we're a steward of it, but it does belong to the entire province," Schafer said.

The funding is being delivered through the Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund which is part of the federal government's Economic Action Plan 2012. The Fund supports projects that improve existing community infrastructure locations such as community centres, recreational buildings, local arenas, cultural and other community facilities.

“I am proud to see Swift Current benefit from our Government’s support for community infrastructure,” MP Anderson stated in a press release. “This investment will help create jobs and growth, and will support the prosperity and well-being of the community for years to come.”

Organizations: Hockey Hall of Fame, Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund

Geographic location: Swift Current

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page