Midnight Roses and Ardell earn 2014 SCMA nominations

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

The Midnight Roses and Will Ardell have both earned multiple nominations for the 2014 edition of the Saskatchewan Country Music Association (SCMA) Awards.

The Midnight Roses are nominated in the prestigious Group of the Year category, they are one of four finalists in the Rising Star Award, plus they are nominated in the Roots Album of the Year. In addition, Eliza Doyle is a nominated in the All Star Band (Speciality) category.

Ardell, the reigning SCMA Rising Star Award winner, has been nominated for four awards including Male Vocalist of the Year, Song of the Year (Composer) and Single of the Year for Make Me A Man, plus he is nominated for video of the year.

Glenna Switzer also earned a pair of SCMA nominations, for All Star Band (keyboard) as well as Country Music Person of the Year.

Saskatoon-based group Wyatt has earned a 2014 leading eight nominations, with Eli Barsi from Moosomin and The Trudel Family from Honeymoon both collecting seven nominations.


Male Vocalist of the Year

Will Ardell

Chris Henderson

Codie Prevost

Alex Runions

J.J. Voss

Song of the Year (Composer)

Make Me A Man – Will Ardell

Farm Girl – Eli Barsi & Anthony Kelly

Don’t Miss Your Kiss Goodbye – Chris Henderson

Harmony – Jay Semko

I Wonder Why – Samara Yung, Steve Fox and Murray Yung

Single of the Year

Make Me A Man – Will Ardell

Don’t Miss Your Kiss Goodbye – Chris Henderson

Good Lovin’ – Jess Moskaluke

Harmony – Jay Semko

I Wonder Why – Samara Yung

Video of the Year

Dangerous Eyes – Will Ardell

Farm Girl – Eli Barsi

Jesse James – Wyatt

Roll The Windows Down – Wyatt

I Wonder Why – Samara Yung


Group of the Year


The Midnight Roses

The Trudel Family


Rising Star Award

Eli Barsi

Kelsey Fitch

Lyn Besse McGinnis

The Midnight Roses

Alex Runions

Roots Album of the Year

Portrait Of A Cowgirl – Eli Barsi

Next Time Around – Lyn Besse McGinnis

Say Darlin Say – The Midnight Roses

Not Unto Us – The Trudel Family

All Star Band (Specialty)

Eliza Doyle

Rich McFarlane

Erik Paquette


All Star Band (Keys)

Bart McKay

Glenna Switzer

Mike Langlois

Amy Nelson

Terry Neudorf

Country Music Person

Murray Yung

Stephen Maguire

Al Leblanc

Larry Krause

Bill Wood

Cal Gratton

Jason Lee

Glenna Switzer

Bev Hallett

Codie Prevost

Garry Larson

Rich McFarlane

For additional information visit scma.sk.ca

Organizations: Saskatchewan Country Music Association

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page