Schools participating in Student Vote

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Students at seven Swift Current and area schools will be joining with students across the province in casting their ballots as part of the Student Vote program.

Although they are under the legal voting age, students at local schools will join with as many as 20,000 Saskatchewan students in cast ballots on Thursday and Friday as part of the Student Vote program. Area schools participating are: O.M. Irwin, Stewart Valley, St. Joseph's, Ashley Park, Earview Hutterite School, Ecole Oman, and the Swift Current Comprehensive High School.

As part of the Student Vote program, students take on the roles of deputy returning officers and poll clerks, and they host a Student Vote Day where students will vote for the official candidates running in the school's electoral district.

Their vote follows a series of in-class and school wide activities where students learn about political parties, platforms and local candidates.

The results of Student Vote Saskatchewan will be released on Nov. 7 at 8 p.m.

The Student Vote website had an on-line poll following the leaders debate between Brad Wall (Saskatchewan Party) and Dwain Lingenfelter (Saskatchewan NDP), asking the question “Who do you think did the best job in the SK leaders debate?” They reported they received an overwhelming response, the biggest that a Student Vote poll has ever received, and after tabulating the votes Brad Wall was the clear winner with 91.49 per cent of votes in the opinion poll, while Dwain Lingenfelter received 7.45 per cent support.

Geographic location: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Stewart Valley

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page